Winners include Octopus Energy, Pivot Power and the Foresight Group

The winners of the REA’s 2020 British Renewable Energy Awards have been announced.

The 15th year of the UK’s most prestigious event in the renewable energy calendar honoured the very ‘Best of British’, with the virtual event taking place on Tuesday 26th January 2021.

The awards demonstrated the amazing work undertaken on the road to net zero and celebrated the achievements of companies and individuals who have done something fantastic in renewables or clean technology over the past year.

The winners of this year’s awards were: BetaTalk Podcast; Egni Sir Gâr Cyfyngedig; Octopus Energy; Social Energy; Triodos; Pivot Power; The Phoenix Works; Foresight Group; GENeco; H.D. Services; Electron; OnGen; Keenan Recycling; and Laura Hepburn from Greenology. 

Dr Nina Skorupska CBE, Chief Executive of the Association for Renewable Energy and Clean Technology (REA), said:

“This year could be a momentous one for our industry, with COP26 having the potential to be a watershed moment in our drive towards net zero.

“What better way, then, to start 2021 with a celebration of the brilliant work of so many organisations and individuals in our renewable energy and clean technology sectors.

“I would also like to reiterate my thanks to all our incredible judges who had to make such difficult decisions in choosing winners from a strong field of finalists this year.

“We have so much to be proud of as an industry and these winners, and indeed all of our finalists, represent the very ‘Best of British’.”

A range of influential and respected renewable energy industry figures joined the panel this year and included: Martin Wright, Chairman of REA & Aurora Ventures; Dame Fiona Woolf DBE, DStJ, DL; Philip Sellwood CBE, Non-Executive Director, Charity Trustee & UK Government representative on energy efficiency; Laura Sandys CBE, Challenging Ideas; Prof. Patricia Thornley, Director of the European Bioenergy Research Institute, Aston University; Dr Rhian-Mari Thomas OBE, Chief Executive, Green Finance Institute; Dr Jonathan Scurlock, Chief Policy Adviser, Renewable Energy and Climate Change, National Farmers Union; Tom Delay, Chief Executive, The Carbon Trust; Emma Bridge, Chief Executive Community Energy England; The Baroness Verma, House of Lords, Independent Non Executive Director (NED) on REA Board; Michelle Davies, International Head of Clean Energy and Sustainability, Eversheds-Sutherland; Fintan Slye, Director of the Electricity System Operator, National Grid ESO; Andy Hadland, Chief Product Officer, Arenko Group; Dr Douglas Parr, Chief Scientist and Policy Director at Greenpeace UK; Dr Sarah Redwood, Director, Renewable Energy Deployment, BEIS; Virginia Graham OBE, Chief Executive of REAL; and Richard Simon-Lewis, Head of Origination, Marketing & Communications, UK Export Finance.